Skip to main content
Division of Student Life

17 awards from the 99th Finkbine Dinner

17 awards from the 99th Finkbine Dinner

University of Iowa students, faculty, staff, and alumni received some of the institution’s highest honors on April 12 at the 99th Finkbine Dinner. Vice President for Student Life Tom Rocklin was emcee, and UI President Bruce Harreld presented the Hancher-Finkbine Medallions and Distinguished Student Leader certificates. 

Hancher-Finkbine Medallions recognizing leadership, learning, and loyalty went to students Jeffrey Ding, Nicole Jardine, Alexander Lodge, Elizabeth Mills, and Joshua Schoenfeld; biochemistry and internal medicine faculty member Paul Rubenstein; staff member Michael Fountain; and alumnus John W. Colloton.

Dexter Golinghorst, Sailahare Ponnaluri, and Shaun O’Neill received Distinguished Student Leader certificates. The Philip G. Hubbard Human Rights Awards (which include a $1,500 award) went to Carter Yerkes and Crystal Pound.

Travis Perry and Samantha Wagner received the Robert F. Ray Faculty Representative Award, which honors outstanding student-athletes and gives $1,000 grants to recipients entering graduate or professional school at the UI.

Vicki Hesli Claypool received the M.L. Huit Faculty Award, and David Bradley (Brad) Wright received the James N. Murray Faculty Award.

In 1917, William Finkbine and Carl Kuhnle hosted the first awards dinner for UI men. In 1921, Finkbine’s daughter, Dorothy Finkbine Sauers, and her aunts introduced a similar dinner for women. The events were combined in 1972, and to this day are supported by an endowment established by W. Finkbine, as well as other alumni, friends, and the UI Foundation.

Read on to learn more about this year’s honorees.

Filed under: Excel


IMU ground floor and recovery: one year later

IMU ground floor and recovery: one year later

Iowa Memorial Union

After operating at limited capacity for 7 years, the IMU has just completed it’s first year of operation at full capacity after the re-opening of the ground floor in June, 2015.